MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

The Flowering Of The Humble Sprout

As I sat in bed early this morning drinking tea and reading the newspapers a fox ran past the window. I have never seen one in the front garden from my bed before. Shortly afterwards another followed. I had just got back to my paper when the pair ran back the way they had come. Shame I don't take my camera to bed. :)

It has been raining all day. I shot my first bullfinch but it was too deep in a bush for clarity. I haven't seen one for ages. All my pics taken outside were muted. I saw another fox down the field but wasn't quick enough to capture it.

I've decided to post this beautiful vibrant Flower Sprout. These are a cross between Brussels sprouts and kale and I love them. We used to eat a lot of kale when I was a child as it was cheap. We called it cow kale as it was grown for cattle feed.

Kale has become very fashionable lately and rightly so. It's a superfood. I like to eat home-grown, seasonal food and these Flower Sprouts fit the bill tastily.

PS Now known as kalettes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.