Dreich...

There's not much else to be said about the weather today. It sucked ass on a grand scale. Not only was it pissing it down, it was freezing too. I'd like to say that I don't think it was as windy as had been forecast, but given I was cosily ensconced in the warmth of nice car boss's car, complete with heated seats... oh my, there's nothing I like more than a warm arse! This is why I call him nice car boss. I think we have a solution to our trip transport. Result.

There were only five cancellations on the training run, we pitched up at the office at half eight and already there were people there, unloading bikes from the roof of a Porsche and arranging over shoes. Sarah and Gareth (centre of the photo) came out too which was great as they're running the London to Paris section of the charity bike ride, I think it's good to do a group training run, it gave me a chance to meet some of the people coming along and for them to meet each other. I'm sure there was banter despite the weather.

They all did really well, we had seven punctures before we got out of Edinburgh. My Dad got stuck in at the end of Drumsheugh Gardens, not even a mile in! I'd have sacked it before it started had I been cycling. Not much chance of that though since there's an inch of dust on my bike! There was a little catching up to be done so the bike rack was handy. It really was freezing, Having somewhere to stop and get indoors and have some soup and hot drinks was a good plan. One brave soul went off to do the second loop... hardcore! The rest of us headed back into town.

I'm glad to have been able to have a chatter with Sarah. She's been uber helpful in the organisation of the trip, I hope I can be of use to her on the actual event in return.

And a massive thank you to my Dad for being my Dad and knowing where to go and how to fix punctures! (I'm setting a time limit on the seatbelt thing though... that beeping will drive me insane!) I like that we have the same sense of humour. x

I love my new hat. Cosy all day I was.

I also love a flask of hot water for a mocha.

However, there's nothing quite as disappointing as parking your arse back in your own very old VW with a manual gearbox and zero technology other than the 'service now' message I get when I turn him on... (haha... sorry that just came out and it made me titter!) and definitely no warm sensation when you sit down!

Did I mention the heated seat? *swoon*

Warm bum for me please!

EDIT: I just remembered that I've got lovely clean sheets on my bed and I can't even begin to tell you how hard I had to resist crawling in there when I got home. I'm going now though!! Clean sheets that smell of home, my favourite set too! I'm not sure there are many things that make me feel quite so happy as getting in a clean bed. It is one of life's simple pleasures. Simple in that my Mum washes and irons them for me... I shall be grateful for that forever. My iron comes out on special occasions only!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.