dfb24

By dfb24

Ducks

I was so excited today, as on my way home from work I saw a bird flying up in the distance, & I wondered what it was, as it looked pretty large. All of a sudden it turned right toward me, coasting on the wind, & I realized it was an eagle! I've seen them before, but only in Northern Wisconsin, about 5 hours from where we live! I've never seen one near our house, & was he a beauty! Must have been an older one, as his wing span looked really big! I almost drove the car right off the road trying to watch him, but fortunately there weren't any other cars so I didn't cause any accidents! Ha! When I got home I told my husband I'd seen the eagle, & he said our neighbor had told him yesterday that he'd seen an eagle, but my husband had thought our neighbor must have been mistaken.... but obviously there's one passing through! What a treat! We left then to pick up some things at the store, & on the way home we were driving through the parkway when we saw two ducks fly in & land in this one little unfrozen spot of water in the lagoon! We pulled over & I got out the camera, & just as I got to the edge of the lagoon, a third duck flew in & landed! Shortly after that, 2 more mallards flew in, but the hen didn't like that at all & started pecking at one of the newcomers, who waddled off with his buddy & then flew away. Apparently the first "couple" didn't want to share their spot! Best viewed LARGE

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.