Quintessential Canterbury

The fisher/hunter had today off work and thought it time I was taken beyond my 4 walls again.

The outing included sussing out boat ramps (apparently I'm going to learn to drive the jet boat - that should be blip worthy!), coffee at Lyttelton, lunch at Kaiapoi and then off to meet his brother Stuart in Rangiora.

The surprise bit was Stuart was at his hanger at the Rangiora Air Field and I was going for a flight where I'd be steering us down the Ashley River.

Very Canterbury and very cool large

I'm pleased to see not all of the Canterbury Plains have been converted to dairying. This reminds me a the cover of a geography text book I had a school - braided river, patchwork Canterbury Plains and mountains in the distance.

It was a huge amount of fun and so much of a tonic I told Stuart it was worth breaking my foot for a ride in his plane (well nearly...). He did point out I could have a ride without a broken foot ;-)

I was thoroughly tired last night - too tired to put my blip up, and my foot felt swollen and uncomfortable against the cast. It was worth it and my foot felt more comfortable this morning :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.