A New 365 Blipfoto Book

Thanks to a tip off from MsGable, last night I was able to watch Up Helly Aa on the Shetland Webcast from the warmth of my armchair.
It brought back many wonderful memories of travelling north to witness the event first hand two years ago. It is a spectacle which will stay in my memory forever; the kind of pure dramatic street theatre which sends goosebumps down spines.

As luck would have it my 2013 365 Blipfoto book arrived yesterday, and my blip is of it opened at last year's page in which I remembered that night in 2012, with my wooden replica galley acting as a stand in for the real thing, but avoiding its fiery end.

Having seen His Lordship off in the dark and rain before 8 am this morning, I went down to the seaside to meet Tiggy for coffee overlooking the waves at Portobello. And turbulent waves there were a-plenty, breaking on and over the groynes, helped in their intensity by a cold SE wind.

I was fortunate that my groin, aided by ibuprofen, allowed a short walk along the prom before I headed for home to arrive just before another sharp shower.

It is a wonder that the big blue and yellow shop has not started selling flat pack arks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.