REAL OR FAKE?

I went into school this morning - the first time since before Christmas and it was good to be back.

Whilst walking along the corridor, I saw this exhibition of paintings done by some of the children in the style of Vincent van Gogh.

Quite honestly, I wouldn't be able to tell if they were real or fake - well actually, for the children who painted them, they are real - but if someone tried to pass one off as a van Gogh, I am sure an art dealer would know it was a fake, or would he?

Today, Vincent van Gogh, who was born in 1853, is considered the greatest Dutch painter after Rembrandt. He completed more than 2,100 works, consisting of 860 oil paintings and more than 1,300 watercolours, drawings and sketches.

Sadly, he struggled with mental illness, and remained poor and virtually unknown throughout his life. He died in France on July 29, 1890, at age 37, from a self-inflicted gunshot wound.

I am still far from being what I want to be,
but with God's help I shall succeed.
Vincent Van Gogh


I think you will agree that the children have done really well!

Thank you, once again, for all your kind comments, stars and hearts - I'm sure once this cold and wet weather has gone, I will be commenting again, but for now, I am resting my hands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.