Scintilla

By scintilla

Adventure, Beauty, and Class

My foot was pretty swollen the morning of the second day of the ride, but it didn't feel as bad as it did the day before. I was able to stuff it into my boot and continue the ride. Boy was it worth it. Anxious to get back on that horse, I took the lead on the first unimproved road segment of the day. I was rewarded with spectacular scenery and the spectacle of a pair of bears I spooked out of a tree next to the trail. They ran down the tree faster than freefall. We then rode the "Tail of the Dragon" at Deal's Gap notable for "313 curves in 11 miles". Before this trip, my sister kept sending me links to youtube videos of bikers wiping out on this segment of American roadway. This is a low light shot of a waterfall scenic spot on our last break of the day. Pretty good for a P&S I thought. In high standard BMW fashion, we were put up in a fantastic inn with great food and accommodations. Each room had a jacuzzi tub (which was much needed) and a fireplace. The foot looked worse, but the pain was manageable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.