rjkerrison

By rjkerrison

Old Joanna Plays

I had an ambivalent day. Unexpected went well, I felt, with Stoneman guesting for a Sitcom Character quiz and Hannah making the full show for the first time this term. Greer and Joe kept popping into the studio too, which made the two-hour slot a lot of fun. The show is now on my mixcloud.

I went to Probability Theory, just as I did yesterday. I've failed to make any other lectures for over a week now. I know I should attempt to do some work, but I really don't feel like it. I get absolutely no pleasure from my course at the moment. I'll learn everything for the exams in the summer, but in the meantime I just don't care, although I might make Functional Analysis on Thursday and Friday.

I sat in the office until Intro to Systems Biology had almost ended before I left to get some air. I also got a few hugely unsatisfying photographs of some birds on the lake by Tocil Wood. I was reluctant to use any of them anyway, given that the lake was the setting for yesterday's blip.

Eventually I wandered to the Arts Centre, attempted to think of something productive I could do, failed at that and found an empty practice room. I had quite the tinker on the ivories: I knocked out a rendition of Für Elise and then improvised with a simple bassline from my left hand, decorated with the odd arpeggio, and some of my standard moves forming a generally pleasing melody in the right. It felt charged, in a way, and was quite satisfying.

There was PhotoSoc training in the evening. It was interesting; the subject was gig photography. I'm sure I'll keep it in mind in the future. When it finished, I tried to get a bus and failed, but then I ended up having a lovely chat with Lauren and getting the next bus home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.