Scribbler

By scribbler

Xmas in Babylon

Hanging glass planters at New Seasons.

Smooth is today's DDW challenge.



But first, a theological note.
X is from the Greek letter chi, which is the first letter of the word Christos (Messiah), so X has been an abbreviation for Christ since approximately 33 A.D. It is not disrespectful nor is it an atheist plot to "take Christ out of Christmas"! Just sayin'.

Anyway, 'Xmas' simply refers to the all the red and green in the image, and 'Babylon' refers to the Hanging Gardens.

Take a look larger to see the brushstrokes painted by the reflections in these teardrops of glass. There are four, each one containing live plants and decorative materials. I liked the contrast between the smooth globes and their textured interiors.

----------------------------

Doctor's appointment today.
She thinks I might have a sinus infection and prescribed an antibiotic. Now I'm trying to decide whether to take it. I don't know whether its adverse effects are cumulative over time, and I might really need it one day.
No serious symptoms, so I think I'll keep trying to let my immune system fight the good fight, not being one of those Americans who think the answer to every ill is to swallow a pill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.