Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

After Spring Comes Winter, Yes?


Yesterday was a warm, sunny spring day. This morning there was an inch of snow on the ground. I know, I know, an inch isn't much, but ours is supposed to be a temperate climate and it's only two months until the longest day.

This was part of my vegetable garden this morning. Under there a broad beans, cabbages, lettuces and celery. By afternoon all had recovered but the broad beans. Their tops are still downcast.

Many plants not designed for snow were flattened. Among the worst hit was the huge bushy 8 foot rose that was sent sprawling across the lawn. It will have to stay there until the weekend when my son will help me lift it. Worse still, the giant rhubarb and angelica are wasted. They were just beginning to flower. I love these big plants that shoot up from ground level to way above my head in just a few weeks. They are now a tangled heap.

I am always prepared for frosts at any time of year, but not for snow so far from winter. Strangely, there is not much more snow on the mountains from yesterday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.