Whatever this is

It's about 10:30 PM now and I am too exhausted to write. My chest has begun tingling a little as has been its habit these last few days. This harmless tingling will grow silently within, like a sly volcano, and when sleep is supposed to be at its deepest, it will erupt into a series of incessant coughs. It will last a few hours. S will wake up too. I'll desperately grope around in the dark for the cough syrup, and when normal amounts won't make the slightest difference, take absurdly large doses to put a leash on the coughing and try to grab a wink before daylight arrives. And then I shall wake up, my head heavy and in some ways ready to face the day. The morning mug of hot chocolate will be my saving grace, though that won't change the way the day shall unfold. It will be a pause and a deviation. And I shall regale in them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.