I like yellow too

There was an important mail I had to send before 9 AM today. I did the needful, made the necessary calls, got the contents ready and sent it. Until noon, there was no acknowledgement and when I checked, the mail was stuck in the outbox. A day lost. This is indicative, that's what this is.

Today at work we were supposed to dress up in ethnic wear and I had completely missed it guessing it would be one of the days next week closer to Diwali. Most of the ladies relished the opportunity to dress up in saris, and some men complied as well. Some office decorating competitions were underway since lunch, some games were being played at the cafeteria, a bored looking DJ inserted some beats each time someone won a prize. Some snacks were served too.

When I was returning home, the sky was a passive blue-grey, insects spattered on my face like heavy drops of rain and though I had my lips shut tight, I can't be sure if I kept them all from getting in. Even at our apartment complex, large parts have been lit up, trees are streaked with coloured light, children are playing out late into the evening, stalls are being set up...the celebrations are nearing.

The coming week at work should be interesting. And the week after that very tough to predict.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.