High Tide

Was still a couple of hours away. Consequently, I thought that I would still be able to walk around from Algies Bay to Snells Beach. Headed out and ran to Algies Bay, where I found that the water was already pretty deep by the base of the cliff. Never mind. I can walk through this, as I've got on my shoes for mud, water, sand, and road. (An old pair of road shoes, that don't mind if they get wet in the sea.)

So off I went. Not too much trouble around the first bit. Then quite abruptly I found myself in nearly waist deep water and feeling that it was getting deeper. Yet turning back seemed almost more difficult. I was able to ensure that the camera was up on the cliff-side in crannies, and edged my way along. as I expected hoped, it rapidly became less deep, and more sloping up the cliff, and thereafter there was no difficulty.

Consequence of that? No more photos (after one of a pohutukawa tree in the water at Algies Bay) until well along 'our beach'. It was still early, and the water high (apparently we are in a phase of so-called King Tides), and birds were relatively few.

Just before I finished my walk paddle struggle through the water, I saw this swing, and the quietness with reflections really appealed. Shortly afterwards a young couple who had come down the steps, asked if it was possible to walk around to Snells Beach. I told them yes. But they would get wet. They headed back up the steps, choosing the road (and being dry) over the beach (and being wet). I followed up the steps, and went home.

A quiet day followed. A bit of gardening. S' cousin for lunch on the deck under the shade of the pohutukawa tree. Finalised the watering system, after realising that the tank generates insufficient pressure to use with a soak hose, so we will need to use the saved rain water via watering cans and buckets. That aside, I am very pleased with the watering system I've set up.

We picked our first fresh peas, and also have beans, tomatoes, silver beet, and basil ready to go. S had a passion fruit from our vine with her breakfast. Satisfying to be producing food for ourselves again after years of apartment dwelling. We plan on using some of the greens with tonight's dinner.

Life is very good right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.