Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

A Foot Down

Today I learned: 75 litres of poo weighs a fair chunk. Each 25L bag, in fact, has on it a picture with two people carrying it, and an indication that its weight is from 16.1 to 40 kg. All I know is an armful of three bags was damn heavy.

Anyhoo ... to the point: this tree. Our Japanese maple. We found when we got home from NZ that it has many many cracks in the bark, and borer-type holes. It's generally looking pretty well, but I don't suppose that would last forever. It's been sadly neglected (by me) up until now, and I figured the best thing for me to do is to rectify that. Hence the oceans of cow poo ("ANL" brand, which never fails to amuse me), soil improver, good soil, and mulch. Photos along the lawn towards the tree didn't really show the mulch - especially in mono - and I got an odd notion to climb up a little way and shoot downwards; I actually rather like the result.

It was very sunny, but under the tree, and thus in quite a bit of shade, this was at f/4. Exposure was pretty good; I tweaked the levels a little, dodged most of my foot, and burned the highlights. A touch of clarity and colour tweaking rounded it off.

Bigfoot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.