THE EYES HAVE IT!

Well it's been the turn of my eyes today - and I went to the optician with some fear and trepidation. I have cataracts growing on both eyes, and sometimes things look rather blurry, which is a pain for an avid reader - but it could be worse!

First of all, I saw Clare and within a couple of minutes we gave each other a great shock as she reached to take off my glasses and the static electricity between us made us both jump - she thinks her new uniform trousers are causing the problem!

I explained about Blipping and asked Clare if I could take a photograph - so the top left is a selfie in my wonderful spectacles.

After Clare had looked into my eyes with the slit lamp microscope and tried different lenses (top right) I could almost read the bottom line, which impressed Clare.

I was then sent to Jessica who used the tonometer more commonly known as the "instrument of torture" which puffs air into the eye to measure the fluid pressure (bottom left).

I was hoping I wouldn't need new glasses, as they are so expensive, but I do, so will wait for Mr. HCB to come with me to choose some new frames - or I guess I could use the ones in the top left of my collage! I don't think I will be choosing any from the designer range - who cares if they are Jaeger or Stepper?

If nothing else, all this excitement at the opticians took my mind off my thumbs!!

Many people know so little about what is beyond their short range of experience.
They look within themselves - and find nothing!
Therefore they conclude that there is nothing outside themselves either.
Helen Keller


Thanks for all your kind comments yesterday - I must tell Kathryn to look at them so that she is encouraged.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.