From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

Stiff neck and soggy pages....

I didn't go out at all today. It was just wind and rain all day here in Ayr - today's picture was taken late afternoon with the only sun I saw through the rainy window, enhanced slightly to look less depressing - and I felt really tired all day. I was in bed by just after 11pm last night with a Stuart MacBride book.

My eyes went really heavy and I remember thinking I should turn the light off and go to sleep but I woke up with the light still on, I was still sat upright and it took me ages to straighten my neck as my chin was on my chest. Owwwww! I was dribbling too! What a horrible image! Suppose I had died and been found like that in the morning? Horror of horrors! It's not exactly a glamorous way to go, is it? I have done this sort of thing before; falling asleep reading I mean and dribbled all over my Kindle. It was a proper book this time and I had soggy pages. Yuck!

Well at least I wouldn't be found reading anything saucy! A crime thriller is quite respectable. I remember our old payroll manager, Ivan, when we were on the train travelling back from the Midland Software user group in Manchester telling me about his mother. She used to like to read 'dirty books' as he called them. She used to read them in bed late at night but was always terrified she'd be caught with one if she ever died in the night. She was in her eighties then but she would get out of bed in the early hours of the morning, take her finished book downstairs and set fire to it in a metal dustbin she kept outside the back door for just that purpose! And you all thought I was bonkers!

I was horrified to see that it was nearly 3am so I put my curly book on my bedside cabinet and turned the light off. The wind was howling around the house like a banshee at that time and even pulling the duvet up to my ears, I could not drop off again.

So, I had a grumpy tired type of day. Nuzhat rang me just before lunch about locked absence records. What amazes me is that when we ring each other when I am in Brum and we are only a couple of streets apart, my phone whistles and burps with all sorts of crackly interference. When I am 340 miles away up here, the phone line is beautifully clear!

Anyway, that's enough of me waffling today. I will make more of an effort tomorrow. I expect I'll have to walk down to the post office to collect a wireless mouse that will arrive tomorrow from Amazon. The postie here is a bit of a git and is like the one in Still Game. He creeps up the path and posts a card furtively through the letterbox stating that he had tried to deliver while I was out, when he hadn't even bothered to ring the doorbell! Arse!

Track? Not the cheeriest of tracks but I really like this one from Joe Bonamassa -
Happier Times

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.