C is for...

I'm glad I have the February challenge when I've had a super busy day as it gives me a clear focus and already I can feel this week is going to be all about focus.

It took me an hour and a half to thoroughly read and re-read (bits) of 2 research articles today and make some clear note pf how this information would a) fit into my thesis and b) inform my everyday practice/ or be something I could share with others I work with.

I've been feeling ever so unhealthy all January and over the last 4 days or so I have been doing this squat challenge just to try and ring in the changes. Here you have to hold a flat footed squat (with your bum very close to he ground) for as long as possible. It's been rewarding to see my heels getting comfortably closer to the ground and although I am still having to grab onto items to steady myself when my feet are flat on the floor I am visibly improving. I am slowly training myself out of bad habits and getting back into appreciating a natural way of holding myself that I had managed without much thought when I was much younger (think 4 years old!) I think wearing heeled boots has not helped my posture at all so this has made it harder to be successful with this exercise on first try. It's truly amazing how quickly the body retrains itself with consistency. I now need to hold myself in a squat for longer. The goal is for half an hour by the end of the month! There is a 93 year old woman doing this 30 day challenge with success so she's my inspiration!

This 'C' is for crocus. I heard something very interesting on Chris Evans this morning about drinking saffron infused water and how it can raise mood and lift the winter blues. I'll give that a go I thought...then I searched the internet which was full of warnings about how eating too much saffron could be really dangerous (fatal someone wrote!) and how some people feel nauseous after eating it. I thought, as it's an unknown for me in terms of making a drink with it, I'd just try a few little strands and see how I get on. I've put them in a mug of hot (not boiling water) and left them to step for 15 mins. Aside from tasting like drinking pilau rice it tastes ok.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.