Low Tide - Sandy Bay Inlet

It was a very dull cloudy morning here in Kaiteriteri with even a little drizzle. Luckily the clouds cleared around lunchtime and we had a lovely sunny afternoon.
Around 5.45pm I drove up the road to Sandy Bay and side-tracked to visit Split Apple Rock beach. Once there I had a good session of photography but felt the light could have been better. So I packed up and returned to the vehicle. Then I drove on to Marahau village and visited the Fat Tui burger café. The best burgers in New Zealand are made at this eating establishment. We make a point of visiting there every time we stay at Kaiteriteri.
On the way back to Kaiteriteri I was rather taken by a view of the Sandy Bay Inlet at low tide. So I pulled off the road and got out the camera and tripod. It is low tide and the boats in the middle distance are right out of water on the sandy seabed. There are two islands in the distance. The larger of the two is Adele Island and the smaller one is Fishermans Island. Both are in the Abel Tasman National Park and are thus uninhabited reserves.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.