My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

A New Day ...........

......... a new doctor ......

Anni aka BikerBear here reporting for Alma.

Initially a bit worrying as he is an oncologist however he was quick to reassure me that he was only "covering" on the orthopaedic ward and not to worry - there is NO bone cancer or tumour! Thank you so much, Dr Umar :-))

We like this man!!

He explained a lot, took his time, drew diagrams - asked me if I was medically trained when I asked pertinent questions (as opposed to impertinent ones - lol) - and actually answered questions with proper answers as opposed to "I hear what you are saying" or "I can understand your concerns but ... "

It would seem that Mum has osteophytes on her spine which are affecting the nerves ...... we are not sure why it should suddenly cause the numbness in her leg but that could be down to age and inflammation ....

Hooray!!!! We have a diagnosis with a name at last.

Not running before we can walk (a very apt saying in this case) treatment has to be discussed and could, as a last resort, result in surgery ..... but that is to be avoided if at all possible.

Things are moving and I am waiting to see what happens next before I get too excited ........ but at least we are finding SOMETHING out at last.

Three cheers for Dr Umar!! ..............


As usual last year's journal entry for the 3 February re-taken from my screen for today 3 February 2014

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.