Velcro

Another in my series of "fastenings". Following my zip, button and laces, today I give you that other amazing and useful invention - Velcro.

The hook and loop fastener was originally invented in the 1940s and, after considerable development to create a usable manufacturing process, was patented in 1955. I was actually quite surprised to find it was that long ago, as I am sure this fastening has only become commonplace in more recent decades.

In this picture, the white strip carries the hooks, and the black strip carries the loops. At this distance, even focus stacking was not enough to provide the full depth of field I wanted; using extension tubes on my standard zoom lens, closest and furthest focus still did not cover sufficient range. Perhaps a case for a "proper" macro lens?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.