a town called E.

By Eej

#throwbackthursday

One of the boxes that sailed the ocean blue to be with me here contains treasures from my youth. It's not a box I often open because the side effect of all that treasure is melancholy, and really, who needs that on top of a winter depression?*
But the box was moved upstairs for safe keeping recently and because today is #throwbackthursday and I already posted my 4-year old self on FB I thought I'd have a browse.

I came across this sketch book, with these drawings on the last page. Most likely from 1973. Obviously I wasn't all that ... uhm ... talented in the art department, but I do love how I drew myself, with 2 and a half arms, and my sister Karin - and how I recognise the radio next to her!

On a different page I demonstrate how you really should be careful what you say with a child in the room; I wrote down a bit of dialogue between my Mam and Pap where he complains how he has to go to everybody's birthday**, my Mam tells him there's nothing she can do about it and then there's two of my sisters calling each other names and telling each other to drop dead. I, in turn, flee to one of my other sisters for help.

It's likely I made that all up. Or DID I???


I'll save the story of the "Rond-O-Graph" for another day. If I can scare up more treasures, I'm making this a series :)



*I swear, and I'm don't think I'm kidding, that if we get more snow I will CRY.
** which he hated.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.