Newport Village Green

During the night it rained very heavily and fairly early this morning my daughter Nicola (Hillview Photography) and my granddaughter Victoria asked us if we would like to go for a walk around the village with them as they had heard that there was some flooding and the schools were closed. Mrs GOG and I picked up our cameras and took a three mile walk around the village with them. There were places which we could not get too as the water would have gone over my wellies. Most houses were okay although dangerously close to the water, but some poor souls had water in their houses already and were trying to build dykes with sandbags; I did not feel that their sorrow should be my blip. I decided instead to post a picture of the village green, which is less than a hundred metres from our house and was one of the very first pictures that I took. It has become a boating lake some three or four feet deep over most of it and is very close to the back of the houses along the main road. I wondered whether to get my two inflatable kayaks out! ;>))

Back okay today and stood up to the three mile walk very well, although I could not walk as quickly as the others.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.