Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Overflow Pasture

We don't have as much in the way of flooding in the West Midlands but I popped in to Chasewater at lunch time and was there to see the reservoir 'over top' the overflow weir (which you can see in the distance) and water started flowing into this basin of land below the dam. It has very quickly flooded this small area and is now flowing down a culvert and into the Essington and Wyrley canal.

I do like this tree but it is difficult to find a good background, spoiled as it is by electricity poles and the M6 Toll in the other direction.

The reason for having time to pop in was that despite assurances Mum was still waiting to be transported home from hospital. Yesterday it was arranged that she would be home before midday. Neighbours were waiting to let her in, but at noon I got a call to say there was still no sign of her. The neighbour had to go out so no one would be in to meet her! I called the hospital only to be told she was still waiting for transport. I knew I would have to get over to meet her so left work. WHile driving a call came in and I was told that a mistake with booking the transport had been made. I wanted to shout down the phone but kept calm and said that they would need to get it organised and I expected her to be home as soon as possible.

She finally arrived at 3:30 pm! She had been waiting in a small room since 9:45 am! I'm fuming (and so is she!). Still Mum is home and can hopefully start to get back to normality. I know it hasn't been a very relaxing week for me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.