Stellar

Lake Pearson from the top end where my fishing/tramping mate placed my chair. And as you can see it was an absolutely brilliant day.

Large makes your smile bigger :-)

The truck was parked for me on the lake edge and then a camping chair placed right on the waters edge. Fortunately hospital issued me with all terrain crutches and they did the rest ;-)

I fished from the chair and sometimes I tried casting while standing with some weight through my right foot.

I'm sometimes amused by the encounters I have with men when I fish. Today I had one with an older man who arrived where I was seated fishing. Our conversation went like this.

"How's the fishing going?"

"There were a few rises earlier but nothing so far".

"You won't catch any fish out there". (pointing to where he's just seen me cast)

"I've caught fish here each time I've fished this end. I caught a 4lb brown right there on opening day".

"The fish are over there". (waving his arm to an area to my left)

"I've caught fish there too".

"You won't catch any fish with that set up".

"With a broken foot I'm not walking anywhere".

Tell me blippers, who caught the fish today? Was it the 'expert' elder fly fisherman? His fly fishing grandson? The fishing/tramping mate wading and casting, or trolling from his kayak? Or was it hpx with a broken foot casting from a chair?

Yes, that's right, hpx seated in the chair :-)

But I must point out the chair was expertly placed by my fishing/tramping mate, who later had a conversation with the same gentleman which went something like this.

"No fish here today".

"H caught one, right out there (pointing to where I'd been told there were no fish) from the chair".

"Oh, just a little rainbow I suppose".

"Large enough to keep and put in the smoker".

:-)

My set up was what I call my 'out of left field' set up. I had pearl coloured 'tassie' lure on with a single hook with a 'wooly bugger' fly with sparkly bits about 20cm above the tassie. The fish took the fly.

Not bad for a woman eh ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.