A view from Jeanneb

By Jeanneb53

The Columbine Fairy

Who shall the chosen
fairy be?
For letter C?
There's Candytuft,
and Cornflower blue,
Campanula and Crocus too,
Chrysanthemum so bold
and fine, and pretty
dancing Columbine.
Yes, Columbine!
The choice is she;
And with her, see,
An elfin piper, piping sweet
A little tune for those light feet
That dance among
the leaves and flowers
In someone's garden.
(Is it ours?)


YES!

This is the Flower Fairy rhyme on the back of a plate I bought to commemorate my daughter's birth 30 years ago today. I'm not sure why I chose this one except the little fairy had red hair and we were told we had a little girl with red hair (she's a natural blond!)
Other than the hair colour that rhyme couldn't have been more appropriate as she has spent her 30 years dancing.

Sometime after getting the plate we saw this little garden statue of the same Columbine fairy and it sits amongst the snowdrops that are always in flower at this time of year.

Happy 30th birthday Grace!

These snowdrops were given to me by my mother, they had originally come from my grandfather's allotment and yesterday would have been her 98th birthday!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.