Extremes

Our weather is careening from one extreme to another. Just three days ago we were looking at quarter inch deposits of moisture in the bottom of a bucket and telling ourselves that every little bit helped. On January 18th I published a picture of Santa Rosa Creek, which runs parallel to our road behind the houses across the street from us.

It has been pouring all day. This afternoon, following emergency flash flood warnings for Sonoma County, I ventured down to the bridge to see our creek for myself. By the time I got there, I was drenched, my camera was drenched and I was quite shocked by the brown torrent filled with large tree branches, and logs running from bank to bank. That thing that looks like a large rock was moving at speed toward me as I approached, but became lodged where it is for the moment.

Our house, perched at the top of a hill is quite safe. I think even the houses right on the creek are safe, but it is certainly a dramatic turn of events. The IKEA truck, undeterred by the downpour, arrived and our office is now filled with soggy boxes. I won't let OilMan exert himself putting them together. He'll have to wait until tomorrow for Dana to come and help him. She loves it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.