Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Repaired Rose

17 years ago today mrs tsuken made an honest man of me. Out to lunch today with her and the kids - and didn't think to take my camera, which was a bit silly, as I might have taken something nice in the surrounds of the cafe. On the other hand, not having my camera, I wasn't thinking about the camera, which was good. ;-) - And I did have my iPhone, with which I snapped the kids as they ran about - unfortunately the light was rather harsh, and the foliage rather busy, so the pics are kind of messy and distracting.

Once we got home, I popped outside briefly, in the very bright and rather hot sun, in search of a photo for the day. Two stood out. This one I'll post here, mainly because it's colour, so my mother will be relieved that my camera does in fact still register colour, and it will also serve as a break between my week's B&Ws, and tomorrow's "Mono Monday". However, I really like this half a dandy lion - not solely because I used the sunny 16 rule to set the exposure, but adjusted shutter speed a few stops to make up for the fact I wanted a bigger aperture than the amount of sun dictated: f/4 instead of f/11, so 3 stops -> 1/2000" instead of 1/250". And it worked nicely. 8)

This (larger here), is the rose about which I was very worried a while back when it snapped for a second time - and quite thoroughly so. Happily, it is doing well, and producing some really lovely flowers. You really can fix anything with duct tape, it would seem. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.