creative lenna

By creativelenna

walks the walk

Can you imagine this great white egret strolling past your mailbox and driveway? I was cleaning the floor in the front hallway with the door open when I saw this bird walking down the street! I quickly grabbed my camera and caught this shot as the egret was walking past ON our driveway... longer legs.

I followed as he or she went into the front lawns of 2 of my neighbors, before it went flying off! It had been some time since I have seen a bird as large as this just walking around the neighborhood. I'm not sure but the egret might have been looking for the little anole lizards that are so prevalent in good weather. The bird was stretching it's neck way out like it was looking & listening and then once I saw it dart it's beak into the bushes! Ah ha! From Florida's Gulf Coast Birds: Great Egret: In breeding season displays long lacy plumes on it's back. Patient fisherman, but will also feed in grassy areas on insects and anoles. L 39"  -Wing Span 51".

I have some good news! Except for the fact that we are waiting for a new dishwasher because the one installed last week did not power up . . . and also because very late in the project we ordered a matching cabinet (like the kitchen ones) for an empty niche in the living room . . . . well, except for those things plus the building permit being closed (after the dishwasher works!) -our renovation project is done! Steven & I moved furniture back into the living area today, and I think all the boxes and bins of kitchen stuff have found a new home!  I will follow up with some photos soon. Sorry if I have not visited you lately, I will be back before long -moving into the kitchen has required more attention than I anticipated!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.