First Light Last Day

Ah, first light on my last day at Kaiteriteri…. I was feeling a little sad as I love this part of the world. I went for a very early walk and as I started out I captured some images down at the foreshore. There was a bank of clouds over Nelson city and the Richmond Range across the bay. The sun was doing its best to shine through the clouds and was casting a lovely golden glow on the waters of Kaiteriteri. An image to remember.
So I was busy much of the day finishing off the packing of our camping gear and then cleaning the caravan ready for the next occupants. We rent the caravan on the same camp site from year to year. It is owned by friends who live in Christchurch. It is very large and quite old, retro style, but extremely comfortable. I am always sad leaving it for another year.
Around 10.15am I took a break and went down to the foreshore to check up on Hannah. Alex had dropped her and their very big back-packs off at the Sea Shuttle ticket kiosk. He had then returned to Marahau to start walking the Abel Tasman Track with Hannah’s parents. They had arrived out from England for a holiday three days after Hannah had broken her leg.
I watched Hannah using her crutches to climb up the embarking ramp onto the Sea Shuttle. She was planning lie around on the beach at Anchorage while Alex and her parents walked the track. They only needed to carry their day-packs as the big packs were transported by sea. Hannah said because of that they had packed more than they would normally. For example Alex had packed four big bags of potato crisps! No doubt they are for his own consumption as the others are much healthier eaters...
So here I am at the end of the day, back home in Blenheim with heaps of unpacking still ahead of me. The dogs are thrilled to see me and as for the cats… well…. cats will be cats.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.