Pictures & Woodwork.

By PeterB

Turning the wood for the light fitting itself.....

As you can see, the bases for the vases are now complete with the vases on them.

The piece of ash on the right is what I will turn the other fitting to fit the other vase. Both pieces of Ash came off the same small log which I have had in my w/shop slowly drying out for over a year. Thought you would be interested to see the wood before turning. The hole in the middle is where I screw the lathe chuck on so I can then turn it.

I have turned a piece of Ash to fit the neck of the vase and the hole in the middle of it, is where the fitting itself will be with the cable coming up through it.

It is not quite finished yet as I have to sand it, seal it and polish it and then put a narrow strip of double sided tape around it so when I put it in the neck of the vase, it will be secure. Of course, I will have threaded the cable through first!!

A little bit more to do and they will be finished and when they are, I will blip them in all their glory, lampshades and all!!!

Take care and enjoy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.