carliewired

By carliewired

Show and Tell

Be brave enough to
line your art up against all
the other art work!

~ carliewired

Today was my artists' association meeting at the local library. Part of the gathering includes showing art you've been working on since the previous meeting. We line our offerings up on a table at the front of the assembly as we arrive. The last item on the agenda is "Show and Tell". A member of the executive holds up each piece, the owner says a few words about its significance, it's origins or its struggle, a round of applause is heard and the owner then resumes his/her seat. (with a breath of relief)

Today was my turn, not once but twice! I brought my first ever painting, the still life in the blue jug, and also my first landscape, the turquoise blue effort. The teacher of the class these painting were born in happened to be sitting right behind me so I was able to thank her, once again, for her great talent at instruction.

There's only one more meeting for me to attend before it's time to start heading home again. Our art show and sale is in ten days. We have a fabulous art walk in early March. The last activity for me will be the picnic on March 13. I look forward already to November when the art calendar rolls out once again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.