McZoo

By McZoo

Ice Day

Husband stayed home from work today. And he did exactly what I told him to do: played video games (Assassin's Creed Black Flag for PS4), watched a bunch of tv/movies, and ate some of the awesome roast he made for me right before he left. He also managed to find some time to cuddle Aerten ("Moose"). She was eating up all the individualized attention. She might have figured out that she is daddy's princess.

Whenever my husband gets home all the kids meet him at the door to the house from the garage. When I got home Boyd barely made it out the bedroom door to greet me, and the others didn't even make it out of the bedroom. Aerten and Ali didn't even bother to get out of bed. I'm not The Flash or anything. They totally have a favorite human, and it is most definitely not me. But I don't really blame them. He's pretty awesome.

While he was shaken up by last night's drive enough to call in to work today, my school didn't close. So I found myself headed into JPS for lecture this morning. From there I went to L&D at Harris. It was the last bit of clinical time that I get on this rotation. It was bittersweet. I've loved being on OB/GYN (something I never thought I would say). Birth is an absolute miracle (messy as it may be), and I am constantly amazed by the power of women. Today was no exception. The one delivery I watched was quite the experience. Midwifes are truly different from doctors in their approach to birth. I also got to watch a doula and an amazing spouse support a woman through a difficult natural labor. Sisterhood reigns supreme on L&D.

Favorite quotes of the day:
1) Men don't belong in there (delivery room).
2) We shouldn't see our queens (wives) like that.
3) Men are do-ers and we can't do anything in there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.