I cut my own bangs!

I am 4 and 1/2 years old, almost 5 in this photo. That's me on the right, in my Aunt Jane's arms. You might already recognize me by my big grin! My sister Kathy is on the left. Look at her cute pudgy cheeks : ) I am not sure who is holding her? Kathy is 3 and 1/2 years younger than me. The year is 1961 and we are at the farmhouse, my Nonie's house on West Avon Road in Connecticut. Larger little lenna!

My mother loves to tell the story of how one night when there was a party, I got bored and went upstairs. She found me not too long after - she probably screamed! I found a pair of scissors and cut my own hair!! As you can see in this photo, my bangs are crazy short by my design and the rest of my hair has been cut short to match. I still can't believe I did this!

This is for the OldfashionSP blip challenge started by Aynil and Artist Annie. Annie wrote, "It would be fun to see how everybody looked as a child. I don't issue "challenges" but would love to see some of your early photographs. We could tag them OldFashionSP and share how we all looked with each other. Anybody who wants to join in is welcome, any day, any time. :)"

Some of my blip friends who participated, Miffy, and isbi encouraged me to add my "old fashion self portrait" and happily, I am adding this!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.