Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Love Story

When I had the shop it was easy for me to do a heart blip on St. Valentine's Day. I  thought today I would draw a heart in the snow on the car's windscreen. We didn't get snow, just heavy sleet!

While I was preparing tea The Mother asked if I'd got a blip. I told her I hadn't and she said "Well you could do Nan's heart." Oh! I thought I would do that on her birthday, later in the year". We talked through the story.

Apart from her wedding and engagement rings, the only piece of jewellery my Nana constantly wore was this gold, diamond-set heart. This was bought by my great uncle Jack for his wife Maimie but she died quite young.

When my Nan and Granada were getting married  Jack gave the pendant to my Nan, saying he never considered any other woman but her good enough, after his wife, to wear Maimie's heart.

My Nan loved it and was distraught when she lost it but eventually discovered who had found it. She went to their house to collect it. It had suffered some damage. Who would have known that, years later, she would have the tenancy of that very house! The house where I was born and my Nan lived out her days.

The Mother has never worn this pendant but gave it to me last year. I've worn it with pride.

It's all about self-worth. St Valentine's Day is nearly over but, for the rest of the year, love yourself, you're worth it! That's the start of accepting love from others.

This would have been my Nana's wedding anniversary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.