If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

"Get your shoes on the sun is shining!"

I still haven't quite got the hang of sleeping on my back, so another night punctuated by getting up and moving around. On the better side of things I have almost abandoned one of the walking sticks in the house. Also I am making a few steps without any support what so ever, again just in the house.

The weather was horrible, so after lunch while CC went to check that the heaters were on and all was OK at our holiday lodge ready for today's guests, I settled to some indoor photography. I took a number of shots of various items and thought fine I have got something I can use. So I settled in front of the winter Olympics only to have clickychick burst in with the immortal words "Get your shoes on the sun is shining". This was her way of saying "if you are feeling up to it I will take you for a run round and you can get some road side blips.

So with me dutifully attired we set off, turning for a change away from the lakes. We stopped at a couple of places where I had chance of getting some nice parkland shots. We then headed by a back road towards Penrith thinking of a cup of coffee. The sun was beginning to drop in the sky and we could see the potential for some nice crepuscular rays. However the point where we were wasn't very photogenic so we turned round and headed back a mile or so and waited. It was worth the wait! After a few good minutes we went for that coffee in the cafe in Penrith which has the best view.

Then the icing on the cake. CC dropped me 100 yards from home while she picked up her Mum. I carefully strolled the hundred yards feel quite elated. Counting the day of the op as day zero this is day 10.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.