WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Lone tree

Sorry about the obvious title. We had a bit of a late night last night as we invited G round to help us eat the roast lamb. S nobly got up at 6:30 to lead a walk near Laroque des Albères -- I planned to have a lie-in, but since I woke up anyway, I was up by 8 o'clock.

Unfortunately it was another grey day. I went out for what I thought was going to be a very brief blip stroll, but I noticed this unusually large almond tree on the horizon, so I decided to investigate. This resulted in quite a long walk along a track which is only about 200 metres from the village, but which I've never been along before. Well, I've only been here for 17 years. I had to paddle through some rather unpleasantly gunky water, but the reward was a very picturesque spot. Or it would have been if the weather had been better. Now I know how to get there, I'll definitely be back for more blips. Go large to see the blossom.

My half-hour walk had stretched into an hour and a half without my even noticing. So having made the remains of the lamb into a shepherd's pie, I feel justified in lounging by the fire reading one of my birthday presents.

O is for Overcast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.