A long way round

We've been walking on the military land near Frimley for some time but always bits of it. Today, finding the red "keep off" flag wasn't flying, we set about walking as much as we could of it. There's more than I thought. The views are fantastic and the sunny weather provided a much needed interlude in all the rains and storms that have been sweeping the country. This is just one of the many tracks that cross the heath. I love this corner of Surrey. Gill preferred the colour version.

I found just the right size of cut log that I'd been looking for. A hardwood, such as oak, would have been better but birch will have to do. I drilled it with 30 holes and knocked in wooden plugs infused with the mycelium of shiitake mushrooms. I bought the kit from a stall on Borough Market in London as a christmas present (for me). It's the kind of unusual thing that's nice to get for Christmas but because it's unusual it's unlikely to end up in your sock. You can find the kits here should you wish to surprise the man/woman who has everything and happens to like mushrooms. It's now in to its spawn run which can take anything from six months to two years. You have to be patient!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.