Raestelle

By Raestelle

"Old Letters From The Past" ...

FOR MONO MONDAY..

...Letters from the 1960's from people and places you've possibly heard of.....these were my Aunt's - my Mums' sisters, letters written to her from England, Norfolk - and distant relatives - written by Lord Leicester who was the Lord of Holkham Hall..at the time..(he died in 1976 - and his wife, Lady Elizabeth later)..

.. Lady Elizabeth, used to correspond with my Aunt as well, and to read these letters (some of them) you'll have to put this on LARGE..

...One of them was written during the time of the present Queen's visit to Tasmania, and Lady Elizabeth was not at all well - she was a Lady-In-Waiting to the Queen at the time...and ended up not being able to go.. The letter has the Royal crest of the H.M. YACHT BRITANNIA upon the letterhead of a couple of his letters, as well as one or two from their Secretary on the trip and at Holkham..

...When my Aunt died - her possessions were stored for a while in the city apparently in an old building which leaked rain, and therefore that explains the condition of the letters..so my Mum told me..but I'll keep them, they represent some part of our past..

...I'm not sure who Lord and Lady Scott (from St. Austell) were but they were obviously in touch as well..and the card they sent to her is beautiful...large, brown with ribbons and on the front is written, among the fine painted ketches upon the water: "Safe From All Adversity
From the bosom of Life's Sea,
Thy Comings and thy Goings, be"

...If you can read the writing of Lord Leicester there - apparently it was pretty cold then in England (January, 1963) and he writes:

"The weather is awful here, and at the moment with snow, ice, cold winds and fog, how I envy your weather in Australia just now."

...Have things changed much with the weather I wonder.?.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.