Heavy Going

Just catching up with my blip going into work on the train the following morning after another long day. I did manage to grab a few hours to myself first thing, with a run on the moor and then a cycle into the office. It went very slowly. I do feel very tired. On my run I contrived to fall on some rocks, not something I've done for many years, but instinct took over to protect the head (and camera) and I ended up rolling out of it with just a bit of a bump to the back but unscathed. I had a small audience and they shouted over to ask if I was ok. I felt a bit like a cat who has just suffered an indignity and I pretended to be cool. I replied automatically that I was fine. But I really was. "That was spectacular", someone said. I then felt some pride rather than embarrassment! It's good to know that I still bounce ... although it's not something I want to make a habit.

I took a bath before going to bed, to first get rid of the mud that was still caked on my legs, but also just to relax for a bit. I actually relaxed a bit too much and fell asleep. Waking up in a cold bath is not an altogether pleasant experience and something else I've not done for many years. I do hope I'll one day be able to look back on this period and smile.

Tried to find a photograph to reflect the feeling of the day. I actually took some quite pretty pictures but this, given quite a harsh treatment, best captures the mood.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.