I'm Chuffed

I like that word "chuffed." It's one I've picked up here on Blipfoto and it really fits. Yesterday the winter quarter Whatcom Magazine arrived. I knew that my painting was in it but had kind of forgotten. When a friend called to congratulate me I actually opened the magazine, and there on the last page was this. How cool is that! They did a really great job of presenting my piece.

I got a call a few months ago from editor Dean Kahn asking me if I had any winter paintings that might fit in their winter issue. I sent several photos and he picked this painting. Then I sent him a larger print sized jpeg and promptly forgot all about it. What fun to have it show up yesterday morning. :)

This morning I drove down to a company called DIS to meet my friend Elaine (the same one who called to congratulate me). She has a show of her work at DIS, a wonderful series of large oil paintings of local boats. DIS is on Cornwall Avenue and they have large windows that face the street. They have large screens and hooks for hanging art. You can see it as you walk or drive by DIS. I've had my work there in the past. Elaine's paintings look fantastic there. She needed me to photograph them because one of them will be featured as the cover photo for a new Bellingham magazine. I photograph all her paintings. The two of us carefully took down and I photographed each painting. Then together we hung them back up. It took less than an hour.

This afternoon Helena and I are going to Stampadoodle to take a card making class. Should be fun. Then some quiet time. I'm going to invite Steve to dinner. Hopefully he'll come and we'll have some games and TV to end the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.