Hot urban sunniness

Make that bright, hot, urban sunniness with 33 degrees.

But for a woman on a mission, weight bearing on crutches with a work-in-progress broken foot, the walks around the block must go on.

I've pushed things a bit today - more time upright doing kitchen stuff, more walks around the block (with extensions) and a fly casting clinic in the evening (through the anglers club).

I remember my old running coach used to talk about runs where I'd "smell the roses", meaning I'd take it easy and take the time to see things. Becoming more mobile is a bit like that.

I'm careful to watch my foot and crutch placement, even more careful if I'm trying a bit without crutches. I pause to admire a house or garden to to smile at something quirky. I'll reach for a bunch of frazzled burned roses because they might have a scent.

I'm reminded of walks with Mum. The ones where she slowing down and her and she paused to rest or note things around her that gave her pleasure. Also the latter ones where I reached for flowers for her or maneuvered her wheel chair strictly speaking it wasn't supposed to go ;-)

A little bitter sweet, but mostly sweet. I carry the memories and the love, and the appreciation of simply taking myself out on little walks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.