EVER HOPEFUL!

Had to pop into town today and saw these two older more mature men buying their lottery tickets. Didn't want to get too close, so had to zoom in with my iPhone, which is the reason it's not as sharp as I would like it.

Having never done the lottery, I don't understand (a) how people can spend so much money on it and (b) what attraction it holds, particularly as we sometimes read that those who have won millions of pounds are not happy and often their relationships break down because of the amount of money they have won.

I have asked people in the past why they do the lottery and very often their comment is that they are giving to charity. However, I'm a firm believer that if a charity is worth giving to, then I should give without expecting any reward and that's not being pious, it's just my opinion and I am certainly not judging those who spend money each week on the lottery - after all it's their money!

Reminded me of this prayer for generosity:

Dearest Lord,
teach me to be generous;
teach me to serve You as You deserve;
to give and not to count the cost,
to fight and not to heed the wounds,
to toil and not to seek for rest,
to labour and not to ask for any reward
save that of knowing I am doing Your Will.
(St. Ignatius of Loyola)


This is what my hope is built on.

Thank you so much for all your kind comments regarding my thumb/hands. There is some improvement, but I am still not commenting/typing very much - although I have used Siri on my iPad and laughed at some of the words it uses. For instance, it will insist, when I dictate the word "blippers" typing in "bloopers" - so apologies now for any funny or rude words you may see.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.