Street

Today was the day when I had to get out of my comfort zone and go to take photographs for the “street/reportage” category in the techniques challenge. I went up to Central Milton Keynes to the shopping centre, which I knew would be busy at half term. The new part of the centre has an outdoor circle with an oak tree in the middle (dead, but that’s a long story!!) and some replicas of the concrete cows for which MK is famous.

I had been wandering around the circle for a little while just taking snaps and noticed this little girl with a new elephant in a bag. She kept looking at me and smiling so eventually I asked if she would like me to take her photograph with her new elephant. Within seconds she had the elephant out of its bag and was posing on the steps. Her big brother, though, was having nothing to do with this strange person. He got very protective and asked why I wanted to take the shot. I tried to explain about blip and taking a photo every day but he was still a bit skeptical. Meantime the little girl was pleading with him to let her and the elephant get their photo taken. In the end he had to give in so here’s the shot. One smiley little girl with elephant and her not very smiley big brother. Oh and the concrete cows in the background!

I think a 'street' photo should speak for itself and this one is not really anything without the story but please don't make me go back and do it again!!

I did a couple of others here

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.