horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Fire Exit!

Passive Aggressive notes like this are great. Spotted just moments after noting that there are blipping blippers every-blipping-where in this city.

Always good to bump into Boab, Monochrome and Mr Fish.

There's an atmosphere at work that can only come from the boss being back after a few days away, and it being the main board meeting, following a senior staff meeting in which the boss ended up fighting himself into a corner and making himself look a bit daft by all accounts. Rumours have it that he's going to get a bit of a kicking in this meeting, but I remain to be convinced. However, the warning that he was in a foul mood and should be avoided at all costs today I can well believe.

Been thinking about attitudes on the bike today, and the role of just being in a more positive mood. A couple of times in the last couple of days I've had pedestrians step out without looking, but both times I've made eye contact: in one instance turning my left-arm-signal into a cheery (and slightly sarcastic if I'm honest) wave so it could be seen and eliciting a smile; the second time pulling up to a stop and waving him across in front of me, again bringing a smile. Sure people have done something wrong, but y'know what, that's life.

It can be hard at times though. On Tuesday after the dentist I was riding round the back of Holyrood Park and suffering the usual muppets overtaking on blind corners and so on. If someone was to come the other way I'm pretty certain which choice a driver would make between hitting a hefty metal and glass object travelling at 40mph towards them, or the soft and squidgy person to their left. All for the sake of, at most, a ten second delay.

So as I reached a long right bend on an uphill and heard a car approaching behind I was expecting the worst. But the engine note changed, and I wondered at finding someone with common sense. As I carried on up I could see over the crest before he could, and made out a car coming in the opposite direction. So I held out my hand, palm facing back, to let him know it wasn't safe to go by. The car came and went, and there was nothing behind, so the palm turned into a tumbs up, and as the driver behind passed me I got a wave from the passenger and a friendly double-toot on the horn.

Not everyone's out to get you. In fact, most people aren't out to get you. Something I can have difficulty believing at times, But until I'm on the end of the mood of the boss I'm going to try and keep it in mind.

I did try to think of something to rant about today. Honest I did!

p.s. I might be an England fan, but it's nice to see Chris Cussiter named as Scotland captain today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.