Boot Repairs

A few days ago Mrs GOG came home with a wet foot, complaining that her relatively recently purchased boots leaked. Examination of the boots showed that the front of the sole had detached from the upper, leaving an open mouth to fill with water. These were leather boots with a composite sole, which was glued onto the boot and very little glue had been applied on this particular boot. No point in taking them back, as they would undoubtedly, by now, be out of stock and a replacement pair was needed rather than money back. Because of this I decided to repair them, so I pulled the sole off as far as I could to make sure that any remaining glued parts were firm I then found the glue that I had used for re-bonding engine mounts and applied this to both surfaces, letting it soak into the leather and ensuring that the composite was properly covered. The repaired boots (I had treated both boots in a similar manner, were allowed to dry and then painted along the join with rubber solution to make sure that any small gaps were indeed water tight. Finally they were given a clean and polish and the repaired pair returned to Mrs GOG in the state shown in this picture. I now await Mrs GOG's test run in these boots, or should I say walk!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.