McZoo

By McZoo

I Have Minions

Unfortunately the clinic minions don't do anything for me. All of our exam rooms are painted with a different theme from children's books and movies. Each room was painted by a different class (PA and TCOM graduating years) over the past several years. It makes clinic a little more fun. My class did the Hercules room, but my doctor isn't in that hallway. They also have painted and non-painted paw prints in the ceiling tiles.

I feel like I'm getting a better feel for examining kids (although none of them were particularly difficult today). I tested a newborn's reflexes for the first time today. It is very interesting to watch the primitive reflexes that you don't see in older kids and adults. I didn't see a lot of well child checks (which I will need to do in order to learn development better), but I was pleased with the follow ups that I saw. Everything was interesting. I especially enjoyed seeing the resolution of a perforated eardrum. It was a nice contrast to the initial findings that I saw on my family medicine rotation.

In other news, one of my favorite undergraduate professors passed away this week. His celebration and visitation is Sunday. I'm still trying to decide if I should go. His teaching career was stellar. There is no quantifying the number of students who succeeded in future microbiology classes due to his amazing and passionate teaching. I had the privilege of taking two courses that he taught. I feel like the retention of information from those courses is far better than my retention for a lot of other subject material. I'm not sure if it is entirely because of the way that he taught (because I loved the material to begin with), but I know that his teaching style and harder exams played a significant role.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.