Going away

On our way back from dinner last night, I noticed the mist lying in the valleys, and over the water. I was consequently not surprised by the heavy mist when I woke this morning. Almost no wind, and hot and humid. The mist (it was at times dense enough to be called fog) persisted until after midday. The heat and humidity and absence of wind have remained until now.

I took a midday jog along the water's edge carrying the Pentax with the long lens, hoping to be able to get some good photos of the bird life, despite the diminished visibility. It was actually okay for bird photos, even though it was a bit grey.

I am especially pleased with this one of a group of variable oystercatchers (toreapango) leaving the rocks they were on to go to the one in the background. I had carefully walked through knee high water to get almost to the rocks they were on, and this was obviously too close for them.

I have cropped it a bit and made it square format. I debated whether to use another crop, in which only the airborne toreapango is seen. As well as an out of focus Caspian Tern (Taranui) on the far rocks. Or, indeed, to not crop it at all. In the end the activity in this picture appealed most.

I'm posting earlier than usual, as we are heading off to attend a concert featuring S' brother's steel drum band.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.