rjkerrison

By rjkerrison

The Big D Schemes O' Mice And Men…

…gan aft agly.

Thanks to the two Amys for this photo, with Johnson on the camera and Brandis on the lion.

I originally wrote an incredibly long entry for today in the early hours of tomorrow.
I'm yet to work out how to deal with temporal cues in retrospective diary entries. Advice on the back of a postcard, please.
Unfortunately the session timed out and I lost all of it. I was livid and thus it's taken three days to find the time to have another go. It's a shame: the first attempt was hilarious, yet poignant, with as much personality as you could ever expect from well-written prose.

Today was a day of many things going not quite according to plan but working out fine in the end. I was supposed to be on campus for 10am to meet Rachel for coffee at Curiositea. I was late by over an hour and a half, but we had a really nice chat and Rachel took this lovely photograph of me.

After that, there was a PhotoSoc exec meeting and I had a few equipment loans to manage, so I chilled in the PhotoSoc office for a bit.

For reasons I don't remember, I went to the RaW office for a little while which turned into a long while. With it being right before RaW's exec meeting, there were a lot of people, including Emily with whom I got into another fight. I never quite remember how it starts, nor do I know if she's just playing or if she genuinely wants to hurt me. She hasn't yet.

Hannah was there as well. I apologised for being in a bad mood during yesterday's show. I also spent a while annoying Greer and helped Joe a little with a demo he was putting together.

At 4pm we had Speakeasy. Ibi and Charles were on form as ever, and we all discussed the etiquette of Google Glass. Charles and I closed the show by chatting about Twitch Plays Pokémon, a subject on which I have a curious amount to say.

At 5pm, I had to dash off to deal with some equipment, making me twenty minutes late to Greer's show. I think it was her first time on air alone but she handled it fine, obviously. When I did show up, we did the usual TV news chat and Stoneman and I played a few of the features from 'Have I Got News For You' which Greer had adapted for radio.

At 6pm, I was going to go home to meet my brother Daniel coming into Leamington Spa rail station, but he was running late so I had some time spare. Johnson asked for my help to take headshots of Atkins, DK and Brandis for use as promotional material for Big D: the media coverage of SU election results. I grabbed one of PhotoSoc's Canon flashguns and one of WTV's awesome albeit cumbersome tripods and I think we got some workable shots in the end. I figured since the kit was there, I might as well get one of me. Brandis figured she might as well make it hilarious, hence today's photo.

I caught the end of Stoneman's final ever production meeting, too, but found it to be far from constructive, which is probably my fault: I kept making jokes. I then got the bus home with Greer, managed to get home only a few minutes after my brother arrived and we then made a lasagne which was delicious!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.