Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Dubai Creek

Wow. I've just done a quick check and I haven't blipped this part of the Creek at all this year, and not last year either, in fact, the last time was in May and October 2012! Strange as it is a spot I often visit and I am so familiar with and for ever photographing.

So, after the customary two hours of ironing in the morning, I did some minor stuff for the cars - like filling up the windscreen washer tanks! Took Gs car to the car wash after filling it with petrol. Got the tyres checked too. Then went down to the Creek for a few minutes. I really wanted to take pictures of sea gulls sitting in a row but some guys scared them off so that was that.

This picture shows our little water taxis called abras. This one is on a private hire. When I was a tour guide (yes Kathee - I was one of the first licenced Dubai Guides), I sometimes had to do this ride twice a day. In the winter, I felt like I had the best job in the world; it was still nice in the summer but really doing a 4 hour guided tour in 45degC heat is something I don't miss much.

Quiet rest of the day. So sad the Winter Games are finishing tomorrow. They've been GREAT! :))

I just want to say THANK YOU SO MUCH for so many favs awarded for yesterday's Dunes! Thrilled!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.