Ham guards the snack

Amy bought me this hamster eraser in New York. I can't ever use it for its eraser duties, though.

It's blowing a gale out there - I can hear the wind roaring around the house. Worringly, I can feel the breeze on my face, too. I must get those windows replaced with ones that don't let the elements in.

It's been dreich most of the day, too. Fred's still poorly so he rested most of the day while I worked. At lunchtime I went to see Dipsey who was drenched and very vocal. She fell asleep on the couch as I was brushing her - sweet. I then investigated 'Tour de France', which is a small French delicatessen on a street parallel to Dipsey's. There's a pottery next door, but otherwise just rows of houses, so it's a little odd to find a French deli there. It's usually closed when I wander by so I was delighted to find it open. I bought a goat's cheese tart (which was amazing!) and five small macaroons. These are my favourite cakes so I'm especially pleased to find somewhere in the neighbourhood that sells them. Yum.

With my goodies in hand, I walked down Streatham High Road to the station. I went into the Heart Foundation Music and Books shop genuinely looking for some books for research. I didn't find any, but I had great fun perusing the old sheet music for sale. Most of it seem to have been published in 1959. I bought one called 'Ambrose' because I liked the cover. There was some odd dialogue on the back that made Ambrose out to be quite an odd character - possibly quite dangerous! Apparently the dialogue is supposed to go with the music. When I showed it to Fred on my return, he found the piece of music with a video on YouTube: Ambrose - it's a single by Linda Laurie from 1959. Very odd. The piano music is nice, though.

Rodents spotted on blip today:
Sassy the squirrel ventures out

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.